Early Days – On The Mat


Bruce Thomson’s early histories of the Club (1929 and 1948) state unequivocally the Claremont Cricket Club was founded in 1896, the first annual meeting being held under a gum tree in Claremont Park.
Claremont first played in the WA Junior Cricket Association on matting where they had great success winning premierships in consecutive years. In 1902 the Senior Matting Association was formed and, between that year and 1908 when Claremont first appeared in turf cricket, the Club won the premiership three times.


Claremont-Cottesloe Cricket Club


1898-99 to 1905-06    (8 seasons) – came from the Matting Association to WACA and then returned to Matting.




1908-09 to 1941-42, 1945-46 to 1947-48   (41 seasons)
Cottesloe existed from 1925 to 1948
*1942-43 to 1944-45 Claremont and Fremantle combined as one club to participate in a one day competition for three seasons.




From 1948-49 to 1988-89 Claremont reverted to Claremont-Cottesloe   (41 seasons)


Nedlands (1928-1989)


Was founded in 1928 when numerous players cleared the grounds at Melvista Oval. The Club played two teams in lower grades until they were afforded First Grade status in 1942-43.


Claremont-Nedlands Cricket Club (1989-90 onwards)


The 1980s were barren years for both Claremont-Cottesloe and Nedlands and the numbers were dwindling so the Clubs amalgamated at the beginning of the 1989-90 season.
This brought instant success with the First Grade team winning the premiership and the Club winning the coveted Club Championship. The First Grade team was also runners up the following year.




Claremont etc 12 First Grade and 11 lower grade
Nedlands   2 First Grade and 11 lower grade
Claremont-Nedlands   2 First Grade and 4 lower grade.



Club Championships


Claremont-Cottesloe 1956-57
Nedlands 1967-68
Claremont-Nedlands 1989-90


One Day Competition


Claremont-Nedlands 1996-97 (Bankwest Cup)




Claremont-Nedlands 2011-12


Olley-Cooley Medallists


Jim Allenby 2003-04
Wes Robinson 2007-08


Australian Test Players


Claremont-Cottesloe: E.Jones, G.D.McKenzie, B.K.Shepherd, L.C.Mayne, R.J.Inverarity, R.Edwards.
Nedlands: K.D.Meuleman, C.E.J.Guest, R.M.Cooper, R.W.Marsh, C.S.Serjeant.
In 1996 Claremont-Nedlands celebrated a Centenary with a match between former CCCC players against former NCC players at Cresswell Park and a dinner at Challenge Stadium. This function was very well attended and gave many members a chance to catch up and reminisce. A souvenir booklet was published for the occasion with lots of history, statistics and photos. (Thanks to Bill Reynolds, Graham McEachran and the Centenary committee)


Information from

1. W.P.Reynolds book   Making the Grade  (available from the club – phone 0439 440505)
2. Centenary Souvenir Booklet